

#### **MEASURES DURING TRANSITION PHASE**

Bandar Seri Begawan, Saturday, 27th November 2021

# **Extension of Operasi Peralihan**

By consent of His Majesty Sultan Haji Hassanal Bolkiah Mu'izzaddin Waddaulah ibni Al-Marhum Sultan Haji Omar 'Ali Saifuddien Sa'adul Khairi Waddien, Sultan and Yang Di-Pertuan of Brunei Darussalam and in consideration of the COVID-19 pandemic situation and the need to further assess the impact of the Transition Phase that had just begun on 19<sup>th</sup> November 2021, the COVID-19 Steering Committee wishes to inform the public that the stay at home directive from 10:00 p.m. till 4:00 a.m. has been **extended by another two (2) weeks starting from Wednesday, 1<sup>st</sup> December 2021 till Tuesday, 14<sup>th</sup> December 2021.** 

This extension of "Operasi Peralihan" is meant to ensure that the safety and well-being of everyone continues to be safeguarded. To that effect, the public are reminded to adhere to all directives and regulations that have been put in place by the Government of His Majesty the Sultan and Yang Di-Pertuan of Brunei Darussalam, whilst working together to minimise the risk of COVID-19 infections in the country.

## **Changes in requirements during the Transition Phase**

As a preparatory measure in heading towards the Endemic Phase, starting on 1<sup>st</sup> December 2021, individuals who have not yet completed their vaccinations will be permitted to return for duty at their workplaces. However, they will be required to undergo Antigen Rapid Tests (ART) **every two (2) days**. For workers and staff that have received one vaccine dose and are currently waiting to receive their second dose, or who are exempt from receiving the COVID-19 vaccination due to health problems, the cost of the ART test will be borne by their respective employers. Conversely for workers and staff who are not vaccinated out of choice or for personal reasons (that is, not exempted for health reasons), they must bear the cost of the ART test themselves.

## Temporary suspension on entry and exit travel for countries in Southern Africa

Meanwhile, following reports of the emergence of a new COVID-19 variant called Omicron that was first detected in South Africa, the COVID-19 Steering Committee hereby



announces that entry and exit travel approvals for eight (8) African countries, namely South Africa, Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia and Zimbabwe have been temporarily been suspended with immediate effect until further notice. This also applies to foreign nationals who had been given prior approval to enter Brunei Darussalam from those countries via flights that had been approved beforehand, and therefore those approvals are also effectively withdrawn.

These travel restrictions constitute supplementary measures that would give room for the Government to observe and examine in greater depth the new variant. Nevertheless, it is worth reminding that the emergence of new variants is a regular occurrence in the evolution of viruses including COVID-19. By the Will of Allah, Brunei Darussalam's efforts to expand its national vaccination coverage - including that of booster vaccinations - could help protect its citizens and residents in moving safely towards the Endemic Phase.

To that end, let us all support the wishes of the Government so that we could together preserve the safety and well-being of the public by adhering to the health protocols and guidelines that have been established. The cooperation of all is thereby greatly appreciated. We must continue to pray, and to work diligently together, whilst having faith in Allah *Subhaanahu Wata'ala* that we are protected and safe from COVID-19 disease.

## **COVID-19 STEERING COMMITTEE**

Jalan Perdana Menteri Bandar Seri Begawan BB3913 Brunei Darussalam

22 Rabiulakhir 1443 27<sup>th</sup> November 2021